The West African Examinations Council (WAEC) has de-recognised 13 secondary faculties and warned 56 others in Kogi for his or her involvement in examination malpractice throughout the 2018 West African Senior College Certificates Examinations (WASSCE).

Mr Ademu Amos, WAEC Desk Officer, Kogi Ministry of Schooling, Science and Expertise, disclosed this at a gathering with the principals, vice principals and examination officers of the affected faculties on Thursday in Lokoja.

Amos stated that 13 secondary faculties had been de-recognised whereas 56 others had been critically warned by the council as a result of examination malpractice.

He famous that the state authorities was not pleased concerning the growth, describing it as a severe subject that might dampen the hope of a nation, NAN stories.

In line with Amos, the Examination Malpractices Act No. 33 of the 1999 Structure (as amended), offenders are liable to 4 years imprisonment and a positive of N100, 000 per pupil and N250, 000 per college.

Amos defined that the foremost offences dedicated ranged from using cell phones and sameness of labor by copying each other within the examination.

Dr Natty Bobai, WAEC Department Controller within the state, stated it had zero tolerance for examination malpractice and would do every little thing to curtail the menace.

He, nonetheless, recommended the commissioner for tackling points bordering on examination headlong and recommended her resolve to face with the council for what it stood for.

Amos additionally urged the stakeholders to affix fingers with the council in stamping out the menace of examination malpractice within the nation’s training sector.

READ  JAMB de-registers 14 CBT centres

Mrs Rosemary Osikoya, the state Commissioner for Schooling, Science and Expertise, reiterated the dedication of the state authorities to cut back examination malpractice to its barest minimal within the state.

Osikoya harassed the necessity for stiffer penalties as prescribed by regulation and different stringent measures to curb the menace within the state.

She famous that 47 secondary faculties had been de-recognised and 108 warned in 2017, whereas 13 faculties had been de-recognised and 56 warned in 2018.

In line with her, the state authorities had been in a position to cut back the development to 27. 6 per cent for de-recognition, 50.9 per cent warned, whereas 1.38 per cent had been indicted.

She restated the dedication of the state authorities in restoring commonplace and high quality training in faculties throughout the state.

She, nonetheless, urged all the college operators, each non-public and public, to go to the ministry’s web site and replace their college profiles and data not later than March 31.

”All of the de-recognised faculties is not going to be used as examinations centres in 2019, and their names can be despatched to the police for prosecution in response to the present regulation.

”We’ve strengthened the coverage construction in training within the state and emphasised the significance of report protecting in faculties,” Osikoya stated.

Dr Ajole Goswins, the State President of All Nigeria Convention of Principals of Secondary Faculties (ANCOPSS), who spoke on behalf of the principals, expressed disappointment over the re-appearance of some faculties on examination malpractice listing.

”The state authorities is doing its greatest and we should complement its efforts. We can not enable this to proceed, we should enhance on ourselves,’’ he stated.

READ  Muslim group reacts as WAEC, JAMB conflict

He, subsequently, appealed to the state authorities to checkmate the proliferation of substandard non-public faculties within the state.

The de-recognised faculties embody: Jama’atu Nasril Islam Sec. Sch, Ankpa, Christ the King Faculty, Govt. Ladies Sec. Sch, Okaba, Ikah Comm. Sec. Sch, Ikah, Iyale Comm. Sec. Sch, Iyale, and Aitam Science Academy, Anyigba.

Others are: Al-Ansar Sec. Sch, Lokoja, Vivid Future Int. Sec. Sch, Obangede, Okehi, Comm. Sec. Sch, Uboro, Okehi, Paramako Sec. Sch, Ogbogbo, Omabo Comm. Sec. Sch, Omabo.

Additionally, First Grade Success Academy, Okenya, and Nationwide Sec. Sch, Agala-Ate highway, Anyigba.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here